back to list

The Symphony of the Seas

Jack Sparrow would ditch the Black Pearl for this beauty


What's going on?

The Symphony of the Seas is an Oasis-class passenger ship about five times the size of the Titanic. It sets sail on its maiden voyage from Barcelona in March 2018 and held the record for the largest passenger ship ever built. The Royal Caribbean International owns and operates this very ship, which is capable of carrying 9,000 guests and has 2,759 cabins to accommodate them all. The Symphony of the Seas is designed as a result of listening to Royal Caribbean’s customers for five years.


Entertainment-wise, this ship has more than 40 restaurants, 23 pools, a ten-story slide, jacuzzis and water slides, two West End-sized theatres, an ice rink, a surf simulator, two climbing walls, a zip line, a fairground carousel, a mini-golf course, and shopping and entertainment amenities. The ship’s power comes from six medium speed marine diesel engines delivering 130,110 hp that ensures a smooth and quiet experience. These engines also power the hotel and other systems used in the operation of the vessel. Four 7,380 hp transverse bow thrusters support its docking, and these bow thrusters are more powerful than 28 Ferrari SF90s combined.


All this was made possible by Finnish naval architect, Harri Kulovaara who is known for designing two groundbreaking ferries for Silja Line. Richard Fain, chairman of the Royal Caribbean saw Kulovaara’s designs and knew he had to take him in for this massive project. Since Kulovaara joined Royal Caribbean, the record for the largest passenger ship has been broken 11 times – with ten of them designed by Kulovaara.


World’s Largest Cruise Ship “Symphony of the Seas” Launched